Dominican Republic 2016

Yearbook 2016

Dominican Republic. On May 15, presidential, congressional and municipal elections were held, which clearly showed the dominance of the ruling party PLD (Dominican Liberation Party) in Dominican politics. In the presidential election, the incumbent Danilo Medina received 62% of the votes cast, while opposition candidate Luís Abinader of the PRM (Modern Revolutionary Party) received 35%. In the Senate, although PLD lost three seats, it still retained an overwhelming majority with 28 out of 32 senators, and in the election to the House of Representatives secured a two-thirds majority along with the alliance party PRD (Dominican Revolutionary Party). In addition, PLD won in 108 of the 158 municipalities where elections were held. In contrast, the party lost the mayoral race in the capital Santo Domingo to David Collado from a coalition of two small parties, which also won in four provincial capitals.

Dominican Republic Population 2016

When Medina was sworn in for another term on August 16, he announced an ambitious four-year plan where his administration will concentrate on employment measures, security issues and education. According to countryaah, the current population of Dominican Republic is 10,847,921. The outlook for a successful government policy looked bright during the year. The International Monetary Fund (IMF) predicted growth of just over 5% thanks to domestic demand, low oil prices and an expanding tourism sector. At the same time, challenges were expected in the form of low standards in health care and crime.

  • Abbreviation Finder: Check to see how the 3-letter abbreviation of DOM stands for the nation of Dominican Republic in geography.


President Abinader takes office

August 16th

According to thereligionfaqs, President Luis Abinader takes the oath of office and takes office. This puts an end to a 16-year hold of power for the Dominican Liberation Party (PLD). Abinader’s party The Modern Revolutionary Party (PRM) was formed in 2014 as a breakaway from the traditional Dominican Revolutionary Party (PRD).